Date: prev next · Thread: first prev next last

Dear supporters of The Document Foundation,

as announced earlier [1], all members of The Document Foundation are
called to vote on a new Membership Committee. Tomorrow, 2012-08-10
00:00 UTC the candidate nomination period opens.

Members of The Document Foundation as of 2012-07-01 are eligible to
vote in the elections. For future elections, anyone who has made a
contribution to The Document Foundation can apply for membership by
completing an application [2].

Any eligible voter can also be elected to the Membership Committee. To
announce your candidacy, send a message to with your full name, e-mail,
corporate affiliation (if any), and a description of your reasons for
wanting to serve as a committee member. Candidacies must be announced
prior to 2012-09-02, 23:59 UTC.

There are five (5) committee, and two (2) additional deputy seats to
be filled during this election. Therefore a total of seven (7) slots
is available, and will be selected by a single transferable vote
system [3], seats filled in decreasing order of preference. Should
more than two of the top seven vote-getters be affiliated with the
same company, only the two with the most votes will be considered
elected. This election is according to our statutes [4], and the term
of office is two years.

All candidates should also send a summary of their candicacy
announcement to - a compilation of
the summaries will be mailed to all registered voters prior to the
elections. Summaries should be no more than 75 words of continuous
text (so no bullet lists or multiple paragraphs) and must be received
by the nomination deadline given above.

All discussion related to the elections should be held on where members are invited to ask
questions to one or all candidates. Instructions explaining how to
vote will be sent via e-mail to all eligible voters during 2012-09-08,
the election itself will start on 2012-09-09 00:00 UTC.

In the event of a tie for the final seat on the committee or the final
deputy slot, the board will schedule run-off elections as soon as
possible. The board will announce preliminary results as soon as
possible after the elections close, along with instructions on how to
access the votes archive and how to independently verify the vote

Any eligible voter may challenge the preliminary results by e-mailing prior to 2012-09-21 00:00 UTC. Once
any challenges have been resolved, the board shall announce the final

Any questions regarding these procedures should be directed to the
board by e-mail to . Within the
limits of the statutes, the board shall have the power to make any
necessary changes or clarifications to these rules at any point during
the elections.

The election site with the aforementioned and additional information
is now setup [5], and an ics calendar file with the below timeline is
available here [6].

[6]  webcal://

Election Timeline:

2012-07-24:           Announcement of elections
2012-08-10 00:00 UTC: List of candidates opens
2012-09-02 23:59 UTC: Last day to announce candidacies, submit summary statements.
2012-09-03:           Final list of candidates is published. 
2012-09-09 00:00 UTC: Instructions are mailed to eligible voters, voting begins
2012-09-16 23:59 UTC: Voting closes. 
2012-09-17:           Preliminary results are announced, time to appeal
2012-09-21:           Announcement of final results

With best regards,

Thorsten Behrens, Director, Deputy Chairman of the Board
The Document Foundation, Zimmerstr. 69, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Rechtsfähige Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts
Legal details:

Unsubscribe instructions: E-mail to
List archive:


Privacy Policy | Impressum (Legal Info) | Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images on this website are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is licensed under the Mozilla Public License (MPLv2). "LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use thereof is explained in our trademark policy.