Date: prev next · Thread: first prev next last

Dear Community,

we hereby officially announce the upcoming elections for the next Board 
of Directors of The Document Foundation.

As per § 7 II of our statues, [1] the Board's term lasts two years. The 
Document Foundation has been formally incorporated on February 17, 2012, 
at which day the current Board of Directors officially was set in place. 
Therefore, the old board remains in charge until the end of February 17, 
2014, so the new board will be in charge the day after that, which is 
February 18, 2014.

As per § 6 III, only members of the Board of Trustees of The Document 
Foundation, as well as current members of any of its bodies, are 
eligible to be elected into the Board of Directors, and the election is 
overseen by the Membership Comittee (§ 7 II).

The active electoral right is reserved to those who have been members of 
the Board of Trustees before this announcement (§ 7 II).

§ 6 III also states that members of the Board of Directors or their 
deputies may not be members of the Membership Committee and vice versa. 
This means that current members of the Membership Committee are eligible 
to the elected, but would have to step down from the Membership 
Committee the minute before accepting to become a member of the Board of 

There is one more notable limitation: Per § 8 IV of the statutes, a 
maximum of 1/3 members of the Board of Directors is allowed to work on 
an employment basis for the same company, organization, entities, 
affiliates or subdivisions.

Nomination of candidates fulfilling the above requirements, as well as 
self nomination is welcome. In total, at least seven Board of Directors 
members are required, and given there are enough candidates, up to three 
deputies can be elected (§ 7 II).

Re-election of current members of the Board of Directors is explicitly 
permitted (§ 7 II).

Please send nominations and self-nominations via e-mail to (which reaches the Membership Committee 
in private) and also (!) to (which 
is a public mailing list). We kindly ask nominees who would like to 
stand for elections to provide a 75 words statement on their candidacy 
as continuous text (so no bullet lists or multiple paragraphs). In 
addition, please also provide your full name, e-mail address and your 
corporate affiliation, if any.

Discussions with the candidates and questions to them as well as 
questions about the elections should take place on the public mailing list. For details on how to 
use the mailing list, see

Eligible voters will receive further details via e-mail prior to the 
start of elections, including a summary of the candidates, details on 
how to access the voting system, and instructions on how to 
independently verify the vote count. Please ensure the Membership 
Committee has your recent and correct e-mail address on file. For 
questions, you can reach the Membership Committee in private at

Following the timeline set forth in § 7 II, requiring a 45 day advance 
notice, we hereby announce the following timeline for the elections:

1. 2013-10-23: announcement of the elections (this e-mail); and start of 
the nomination phase
2. 2013-12-02, 24:00 CET/UTC+1: end of the nomination phase (one week 
before the election starts, as per § 7 II)
3. 2013-12-10, 00:00 CET/UTC+1: official start of the elections (at 
least 45 days after #1, as per § 7 II)
4. 2013-12-17, 24:00 CET/UTC+1: end of the elections
5. 2013-12-18: announcement of the preliminary results
6. 2013-12-19, 00:00 CET/UTC+1: start of the challenging phase
7. 2013-12-23, 24:00 CET/UTC+1: end of the challenging phase
8. afterwards: official announcement of the final results

Be advised that the newly elected Board of Directors will only be in 
charge beginning from February 18, 2014. The current Board of Directors 
will however include them in the decision making process, to easen up 
the transition.

Challenges to this announcement with respect to the deadlines outlined 
have to happen no later than seven (7) days after this announcement, via 
e-mail to (which reaches the Membership 
Committee in private).

Challenges to the preliminary results of the election have to happen 
until the deadline set forth above, via e-mail to (which reaches the Membership Committee 
in private).

On behalf of the Membership Committee,
Eike Rathke, Chairman of the Membership Committee

[1] (binding version) and (non-binding translation)

Chairman of the Membership Committee, The Document Foundation
GPG key ID: 0x65632D3A - 2265 D7F3 A7B0 95CC 3918  630B 6A6C D5B7 6563 2D3A

To unsubscribe e-mail to:
List archive:


Privacy Policy | Impressum (Legal Info) | Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images on this website are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is licensed under the Mozilla Public License (MPLv2). "LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use thereof is explained in our trademark policy.